## \*PART A

Report to: Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Date of meeting: 27 June 2013

Report of: Committee and Scrutiny Officer

Community Safety Partnership Task Group Membership Title:

#### 1.0 SUMMARY

1.1 Overview and Scrutiny Committee is required to agree the membership of the Community Safety Partnership Task Group.

#### 2.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

2.1 that the Overview and Scrutiny Committee agrees the membership of the 2013/14 Community Safety Partnership Task Group.

### **Contact Officer:**

For further information on this report please contact: Sandra Hancock,

Committee and Scrutiny Officer

telephone extension: 8377email: legalanddemocratic@watford.gov.uk

Report approved by: Carol Chen, Head of Legal and Property Services

#### 3.0 DETAILED PROPOSAL

- 3.1 The Community Safety Partnership Task Group is a permanent Task Group reporting to Overview and Scrutiny Committee. The Council has a statutory duty to scrutinise the crime and disorder partnership, known in Watford as the Community Safety Partnership. The Task Group's rolling work programme is attached as Appendix 1.
- 3.2 The Overview and Scrutiny Committee is required to agree the membership for this Task Group on an annual basis. The Task Group does not have to be politically balanced and is open to all non-Executive Councillors. No substitutions are permitted on Task Groups. Meetings are generally open to the public and the details are published on the Council's website.

- 3.3 In 2012/13 the Community Safety Partnership Task Group comprised the following seven non-executive Councillors
  - Councillor Rabi Martins (Chair)
  - Councillor Jeanette Aron
  - Councillor Anne Joynes
  - Councillor Asif Khan
  - Councillor Ann Lovejov
  - Councillor Kelly McLeod
  - Councillor Malcolm Meerabux

# 3.4 Committee Membership 2013/14

The Committee and Scrutiny Officer contacted all Councillors by email on Friday 17 May 2013 and informed them about the Task Group. Non-executive Members were invited to contact the officer if they were interested in taking part in this Task Group.

- 3.5 Five Councillors have expressed an interest in taking part in the Community Safety Partnership Task Group. The Members have been listed in the order they responded to the Committee and Scrutiny Officer.
  - Councillor Malcolm Meerabux
  - Councillor Jeanette Aron
  - Councillor Rabi Martins
  - Councillor Kelly McLeod
  - Councillor Anne Joynes
- 3.6 Overview and Scrutiny Committee is asked to review the above list and agree the membership for the Community Safety Partnership Task Group.
- 3.7 The Task Group's Chair will be elected at the first meeting on Tuesday 9 July 2013.

## 4.0 IMPLICATIONS

## 4.1 Financial

- 4.1.1 The Head of Strategic Finance comments that it is anticipated that any costs arising out of this study can be accommodated within existing budgets.
- 4.2 **Legal Issues** (Monitoring Officer)
- 4.2.1 The Head of Legal and Property Services comments that there are no legal implications in this report.

## **Appendices**

Appendix 1 – Community Safety Partnership Task Group work programme

## **Background Papers**

There were no background papers used in the production of this report.

## File Reference

None